Kent Fire & Rescue Service
Home > News > News release archive > News releases 2016 > October 2016 > Long Service Awards to be presented at special ceremony
Long Service Awards to be presented at special ceremony

Long Service Awards to be presented at special ceremony

3 October 2016

Firefighters, volunteers and operational staff from across the county will gather at Oakwood House, Maidstone on Tuesday, 4 October 2016 for a ceremony to celebrate exemplary service to Kent Fire and Rescue Service (KFRS).

They will be honoured at special awards ceremony and presented with their medal by Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant for Kent, The Viscount De L'Isle MBE and Chairman of Kent and Medway Fire and Rescue Authority (KMFRA), Nick Chard.

The Long Service and Good Conduct Medal is issued by Royal Warrant on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen and is only presented to those with at least twenty years of exemplary service and following a recommendation from the KFRS Chief Executive, Ann Millington.

KMFRA Chairman Nick Chard said: “It is a great privilege to be able to present these medals and to thank our wonderful staff for 20 years of dedicated service. Your passion and commitment to KFRS and the people of Kent and Medway is outstanding and we owe you respect and gratitude.”

The presentation will also be attended by KFRS CE, Ann Millington, members of the Fire Authority, as well as colleagues, family and friends.

The following operational staff will receive their awards:

  • West Group Manager Leanne McMahon – based at Thames-side fire station, Northfleet
  • Training Centre Group Manager (Operations & Development) – Steve Appleton based at Maidstone
  • Folkestone Watch Manager – John Howard
  • Maidstone based Project Officer – Scott Pearce
  • Cranbrook Crew Manager, Ross Churcher
  • Faversham Crew Manager – Peter Yarwood
  • Ashford Firefighter – Glenn Stephenson

Mr Chard added: “We are also recognising the very valuable contribution that KFRS’ volunteers make to our work in supporting community safety activities and other events.  This network is an integral part of the Service’s efforts to achieve its goal of saving lives and reducing risk. Volunteers are a rich source of local knowledge, skills and abilities and are enormously respected and appreciated throughout the organisation and the communities they serve.”

Volunteers receiving five year long service awards include:

  • Alfred Hake from Bean, Dartford
  • Patrick Deony from Folkestone
  • Neil Bloxham from Dartford
  • Paul Butt from Faversham
  • Mark Gettings from Tunbridge Wells
  • Julie-Ann Wade from Minster, Sheppey
  • Gavin Belcher from South Darenth

Notes to Editors:

  • Journalists and photographers are welcome to attend the event at Oakwood House, Oakwood Park, Maidstone on Tuesday, 4 October at 2pm. Please arrive promptly at 1.45pm.

  • Please confirm your attendance with the Press Office on 01622 212425 or email

  • Photos from the event will be available from  12 noon on Wednesday, 5 October. Please contact the Press Office if you have any specific requests.     

Background information on the Long Service Good Conduct Medal:

  • Each recipient of the medal must have completed 20 years’ full or part-time service. The Chief Executive undertakes to ensure that each recipient is of good character and the granting of the award is by no means automatic.
  • The medal is presented to the recipient for, and on behalf of, Her Majesty the Queen, and the accompanying Royal Warrant is read at the opening of all formal proceedings. The medals are struck individually by the Royal Mint, with the recipient’s rank and name struck on the leading edge of the circular cupronickel medal.
Connect with us
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • YouTube icon
  • Flickr icon
  • GovDelivery icon
  • Instagram icon
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • YouTube icon
  • Flickr icon
  • GovDelivery icon
  • Instagram icon